Barcelona- Romesco Sauce

img_5298-1.jpg
Yes, this is one of many dips in this platter, you can honestly eat it with anything, although I haven’t tried it with fruits

 

I’ve debated forever about writing this recipe. Although it’s one of my all time favorites, it’s not a complete dish/entree. Nevertheless, I felt like it was selfish not to share something this good! I hope you could agree!

I sat down at one of my favorite restaurants in Barcelona, a casual spot where I had Galician Octopus for the first time and instantly became obsessed. With endless restaurants to try, it’s a surprise I came back to this one for the 2nd time and ordered the same octopus dish, with an addition of the grilled veggies and Romesco. I didn’t know what Romesco was, but once I tasted it, it was like love at first sight.  I honestly scraped the whole bowl.   The flavor was hard to figure out, it was smoky and nutty and sweet and just the perfect balance for the grilled veggies. I’ve tried different variations once I got back to the states and this instantly became a staple to house parties and potlucks.

Ingredients

10-12oz jar of Roasted Red Pepper (drained)

7 oz can of fire roasted tomatoes

1/2 cup slivered almonds

4 garlic cloves

2 slices of crusty bread (french baguette or ciabatta works well, I use the ends)

1/3 cup of extra virgin olive oil

3/4 tsp of salt

2 tsp of sugar

1 tsp of cayenne pepper

2 tsp of smoked paprika

1/2 tsp of Liquid smoke (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. In a oven safe pan, lay out the almonds, bread, and garlic onto the sheet. Toast for 10 minutes, take the almonds and bread out. Put the garlic back in the oven and toast for another 15 minutes, until garlic is easily mashed. In a large food processor, add all of the ingredients besides the olive oil. Pulse several times to break up the bread. Then continue to pulse while slowly adding the olive oil. Add salt/sugar to taste and you’re basically done! Best to leave several hours in the fridge while the flavors meld together. This dip is best served with grilled/fresh veggies, bread/toast, crackers, I can eat it with just about anything.

IMG_5298

Leave a comment